How to reset Google Chrome browser to default settings

Published: April 27, 2022

Last Modified: April 5, 2023

How to reset Google Chrome browser to default settings

This article shows you the steps you can take to reset the Chrome Browser to its default settings or completely reset the Chrome Browser to the state it was in when you installed it.

In some cases, when there are problems with the Chrome browser, for example, when installing any programs or extensions, the browser settings change, such as the search engine or pop-ups begin to appear. You can reset the Chrome browser settings to restore the default settings.

 The rest of the article shows how to reset Chrome browser settings to default and how to completely reset the Chrome browser to the state it was in when it was installed.

How to reset Chrome’s browser settings to default

After resetting Chrome browser settings, the following settings will change to their default values:

  • The settings of the main page and the quick access page will be reset.
  • The default search engine will be reset to Google, which will be installed.
  • All tabs will be unpinned.
  • All installed extensions and themes will be disabled.
  • All temporary data, such as cookies, will be deleted.Only the Chrome profile you’re signed in with will be reset. The new settings will apply to all computers or devices that are signed in to the active profile.
  • After resetting the Chrome browser, your bookmarks, browsing history and passwords will be saved.
To reset Chrome browser settings to default settings, in the upper right corner of the browser window, click the 1545008311 chrome menu icon Customize and control Google Chrome icon and select the item in the menu that opens.Settings.
 
At the bottom of the page, selectAdditional 
 
Then at the bottom of the page, in the “Reset and remove malware” section, click on Restore default settings
 
In the Reset settings window, confirm the reset by clicking the buttonReset settings.
 
After that, your profile settings in the Google Chrome browser will be reset (restored) to the default values.